Woodlands Pre School and Nursery


Fun at the computer

The Early Years Foundation Stage, updated September 2017 (EYFS) is an integrated approach to care and education for children from birth to the end of the Foundation Stage (0-5).

Woodlands Nursery aims to implement the EYFS requirements to ensure a consistent approach to care, learning and development for all the children in the Nursery.

The EYFS principles that guide and underpin the work of the Nursery staff are grouped into

Four Themes:

  • A Unique Child - Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Positive Relationships - Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Enabling Environment - Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.
  • Learning and Development - Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Seven Areas of Learning and Development.


Personal, Social & Emotional

  • Making relationships.
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness.
  • Managing feelings and behaviour.

Physical Development

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care

Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking



  • Reading
  • Writing


  • Numbers
  • Shape,space and measure

Understanding the World

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative

More information on the Revised Early Years Foundation Stage 2017 is available at: www.gov.uk/government/publications/early-years-foundation-stage-profile-handbook or www.early-education.org.uk


What to expect, when? 

The following link is to help you as a Parent/Carer find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS. Children develop more rapidly during the first five years of their lives than at any other time. This booklet has been written to help you as a parent know what to expect during these vitally important years by focusing on the seven areas of learning and development which are covered in the EYFS.